Super Easy Pumpkin Pie Recipe | Thanksgiving Prep

It’s the week before Thanksgiving so now it’s time to prepare for the busy month ahead. But first, let me say what a good month #RestfulNovember has been! We’re looking forward to being gathered around the table with our loved ones. Maybe you’re hosting Thanksgiving dinner at your house like Amanda and her husband are, or maybe you’re house-hopping like my husband and I will be doing. One thing is for sure — I will be making several pumpkin pies next week and THIS is the no-fail recipe I’ll use!

Β If you’re a guest, do what I did: tell the host that you’ll make the pies this year. It will be a weight lifted off of their shoulders. It tastes completely homemade but there are a few shortcuts… and I promise, no one will ever know the difference! πŸ˜‰

Are you ladies ready for how easy this pie is?! If you do it my way, you’ll use just 5 ingredients!Β 


Semi-Homemade Pumpkin Pie Recipe:

Ingredients needed:
1 (15 oz.) can pumpkin (I use Libby!)
1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk
2 eggs
1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
**1 frozen traditional pie crust (comes already in a tin pan)Β 

Directions:
Set out your prepared pie crust. Use a medium size bowl to mix the following ingredients in: pumpkin, eggs, milk, and pumpkin pie spice. Mix those together until smooth and creamy. Pour mixture into prepared pie shell.Β 


Now for the baking! Bake for a full 15 minutes on 425 degrees, long enough for the edges of the crust to get golden brown. (Note: place a thin piece of tinfoil around the edges of the pie crust to keep the edges from getting too brown too fast.) Then reduce the temperature to 350 and bake for about 40 minutes. Every oven is different; check it around 30 mins by sticking a butter knife in the center of the pie. If it comes out clean, then it’s done. If it’s still a little “soupy,” continue baking for 5 or so minutes at a time until pie is completely done. Β 


**If you don’t want to use a frozen pie crust, you can use rolled pie crust instead (Pillsbury brand; usually found in the refrigerated section with the biscuit dough and pre-made cookies) and then just roll the crust out into a 9 inch glass pie pan, sprayed first with PAM. Using a frozen crust is so much easier though, and the edges of the crust are already pretty. So that means LESS WORK for you! I’ve made this recipe both ways and liked them both. And if by some act of magic you’ve got extra time, you can make your own pie crust! Also, I don’t always bake at 425 and then reduce the heat to 350. Sometimes I just bake it at 350 degrees for a little longer amount of time. Either way will work!Β 

There you have it! Super easy, semi-homemade pumpkin pie. My mom and I make this pie recipe every year! I hope you’ll try it for yourself! You’ll spend less than an hour in the kitchen and that will free up more time for you to prop your feet up and visit with family. Sounds like a win-win to me.Β 




Ok, now I’m drooling and I’m not sure if I can wait till next week to make this again… Oh, the struggle!


Leave a Reply

