Everyday Makeup Look | Allison Marie

Ladies, I know makeup can be intimidating. I get a lot of women walking into Ulta and they are just so overwhelmed by it all. I believe it is a combination of the endless aisles of makeup, the perfectly contoured employees, and all of the different brands to choose from. Their heads are spinning and they don’t know where to start or what to buy. I was there once. It has taken me several years, lots of wasted dollars, and trial and error to figure out what works for me. And I’m still learning. So, I am going to give you the basics that I tell each one of these clients and what I wish someone would have told me from the very beginning. ; )

Necessary items to have in your makeup bag are: foundation, concealer, powder, eyeshadow, bronzer, blush, eyeliner, mascara, brow product, lipstick, and at least 3 brushes (for foundation, powder, and blush)
Step 1: Prep skin with moisturizer. Apply foundation with brush, sponge, or beauty blender. Try to avoid using fingertips because it will not go on evenly and you don’t want to transfer any germs from your hands onto your face. My favorite foundation is Tarte Amazon Clay. Just make sure it has an SPF in it, because you do get sun exposure all year round, even in the winter!

Step 2: This is where you can add concealer under the eye and/or to cover any blemishes. I recommend using it overtop of foundation instead of under. Then, you always set everything with powder. I prefer loose powder. I love Smashbox Halo to Go Hydrating Perfecting Powder. (Tip: There are different types of concealer. One for the face doesn’t necessarily work for under the eye. Also, a green concealer is great for covering up redness.)

Step 3: Bronzer is perfect for every day. But it’s different than contouring. The definition of bronzer is giving the appearance of a suntan. The proper way to apply bronzer is to make two “c’s” — one on each side of the face from your forehead to your cheeks and then from your cheeks to your jawline. You want to give the appearance that the sun is shining down on you from above almost like a halo effect.

Step 4: Blush would have to be the number one makeup mishap I see on a daily basis. Usually it’s applied too high up on the cheekbones and in a straight line. The key to applying blush is from the corner of the mouth to the top of the ear in a slight upward curve. For those with a longer face, like me, I recommend applying from the corner of the nose in a curve like motion to the top of the ear. Urban Decay has some of the best blushes. Rapture is a very pretty one that looks great on everybody.

Step 5:  You can never go wrong with a gold eyeshadow. It is my go-to. It goes with every outfit and looks good on everyone!

Step 6: I never leave home without black eyeliner. I love Kat Von D’s Tattoo Liner in Trooper. Felt tips are quick and precise for the lid. If I have extra time, I will use a gel liner. The trick to perfect winged liner is to work from the outside in. I like pencils for tight-lining, which means to go along the upper and lower lashes with eyeliner. If you don’t like to wear eyeliner or don’t have a steady hand, skip ahead to the next step.

Step 7: Black mascara makes your eyes look bigger and brighter. My favorite mascaras are: Too Faced’s Better Than Sex Mascara and Urban Decay’s Perversion. And if you really want to splurge, you can get eyelash extensions or tint your eyelashes.

Step 8: Eyebrows are what’s in right now. So, I always fill them in or apply a brow gel. All of my brow products are by Anastasia BeverlyHills. She is the queen of brows.

Step 9: Lastly, don’t forget to put on lipstick or alipgloss.

Here a few photos of my everyday, simple, makeup look:







I love this palette!










The completed look!



I hope you liked this makeup look! And don’t forget that makeup should be fun! And you do have to practice. Always feel free to contact me at allisonmarie87.beauty@gmail.com with any questions. You can also visit me at Ulta Beauty in the Meadowbrook Mall. I do makeup applications and lessons!

Leave a Reply

