Beauty Contributor | Allison Marie


Hi! My name is Allison. I am a licensed aesthetician + makeup artist. My passion for makeup started with my mom; she taught me the basics, but I didn’t always like it. I can remember her putting winged eyeliner on me before a dance recital and I would wipe off the corners before I went out on stage. It’s funny to me now because black winged eyeliner has become my trademark. It is part of my daily makeup routine and now, I never leave home without it. My dad also influenced me by bringing me home fashion and style magazine. I would try to recreate the makeup looks the celebrities were wearing in the magazines, because there was a time before Pinterest, Instagram, and beauty vloggers…surprising, I know!


I never would have dreamed that I would end up with a career in the beauty industry. My background is in licensed practical nursing. I spent 6 years working as a dermatology nurse. It gave me the knowledge and foundation I have about skin care and various cosmetic procedures. It also gave me a love for skin and beauty products. Before I knew it I was answering beauty questions and giving makeup tips. Then, I started doing makeup on the side, which is what prompted me to focus going more in that direction.

I really believe that things happen for a reason because one evening, I saw an online ad for Morgantown Beauty College’s esthetics program. I knew in that moment that was what I wanted to do. The very next day, I called the school, took a tour, and enrolled. During my time at beauty college, my focus was on facials, waxing, and makeup application. Aestheticians can also be trained and certified in other areas such as permanent makeup, spray tanning, chemical peels, laser, microdermabrasion, threading, eyelash/eyebrow extensions, and eyebrow/eyelash tinting. There are lots of opportunities for growth.

Now that I have graduated and officially became licensed, I have landed my dream job as a Skin Therapist at Ulta Beauty. My goal in life is to bring out the beauty in others. I love it when my clients leave feeling happy and really good about themselves. You can truly change someone’s personality by changing their look. The definition of cosmetics is ‘any product applied to the body, especially the face, to improve its appearance.’  To me, makeup just enhances or builds upon the beauty that’s already there. 

When I’m not doing facials or makeup applications – you can find me hanging out with my family. My husband, Justin, and I have been together for 10 years. We had our fairytale wedding 5 years ago and we have two beautiful kids together! 

I am very excited to join The Wild Revival. As beauty contributor, I hope that you are able to get the advice, tips, and tricks you need from me to feel more confident in yourself. Don’t hesitate to leave me a comment below with questions you may have or topics you’d be interested in me talking about. I would love to hear from you! I’ll be posting every other Monday…be sure to check back for updates!

Follow me on Instagram @allison_marie_87

Leave a Reply

